Here is some weirdness. I posted an ad on Craigslist for my kayak.
from: Kristin Troy <kristin.troy@hotmail.com>
I’m interested in your Add and i’ll like to know if the Add is still active.Pls Get back asap,
Thanks.
Yes, the kayak is still available…are you interested?
Hello,
Glad to read from you…. I’m really interested in the Add but i’m so sorry as i won’t be able to come for a look as i’m the busy type. Well, i’ll keep in touch with my financier to mail a check for the amount you’re requesting for the Add and will have a shipping company to come for the pick up as soon as you confirm to me that you receive the check and it clears your bank.
If this arrangement is acceptable, pls get back to me with your name as it will appear on the check and your contact address that the check will be mail to along with your cell #. Get back as soon as possible,
Thanks.
Thanks for your interest, but I think you would do better buying one
that doesn’t require shipping.
(Is that weird or what? Who has a 17-foot kayak shipped to them? I smell a scam.)
Added: Well this is odd…there is a Kristin Troy who runs Idaho Adventures, a rafting outfitter…who also does kayaking…hmm.
I think I may have found a new twist on the Nigerian scam. I am helping a friend look for an apartment in DC, and I saw a posting on Craigslist that looked too good to be true - $600/mo for a 3-bedroom apartment in DC proper! So I sent the following e-mail to the address on the listing:
Hi, I am a little puzzled by your Craiglist posting. You are offering a 3br house for rent for $600/mo? Can you clarify on this? Where is the house located? I am helping a friend look for an inexpensive place in DC, he lives in NYC now so I am helping out because I know what is a safe neighborhood better than he does, etc.
Eight hours later, I received the following reply:
Read the rest of this entry »